home_link   sitemap   contact_link  



Uttarpara, Hooghly, West Bengal, INDIA
Online Admission 2018-19


A. Parasor Chatterjee Memorial Lecture (held annually)

The Annual Parasor Chatterjee Memorial Lecture has been instituted by Mrs. Mithua Chatterjee, wife of Late Parasor Chatterjee, Selection-Grade Lecturer in English and Head of the Department, who died while still in service on 12th October, 2004. The Endowment Lecture is delivered by an eminent scholar, who is invited to primarily address the students of the Department of English of this college. However, accessibility of the lectures delivered ensures that the students from the other departments and the students from neighbouring colleges attend as well. The topic is usually related to the syllabus of the undergraduate (Honours) course, in order to maintain the relevance of the Lecture to the course of study offered by the college. Faculty members from this college and outside also attend these Lectures:

Anna_JelnikarEndowment lecture by Dr Anna Jelnikar
Arindam_ChakrabortyNoted philosopher Dr Arindam Chakraborty delivering a lecture
Dattatreya_DuttaDr Dattatreya Dutta in a pensive mood
Debasish_BandyopadhyayDr Debasish Bandyopadhyay makes a point

Invited Speaker Sponsoring Agency Year
Dr Subhas Sarkar, Shakespeare Professor and former Head of the Department of English, Rabindra Bharati University, Kolkata Parasar Chatterjee Memorial Trust 2005
Dr Pradip Ranjan Sengupta, Associate Professor and Head of Department of English, Behala College, Kolkata Parasar Chatterjee Memorial Trust 2006
Dr Dattatreya Dutta, Professor and former Head, Department of Drama, Rabindra Bharati University, Kolkata Parasar Chatterjee Memorial Trust 2007
Dr Dipak Shankar Chakraborty, Associate Professor, Department of English, Narendrapur Ramkrishna Mission Mahavidyalay, Kolkata Parasar Chatterjee Memorial Trust 2008
Dr Proloy Kumar Deb, Professor and former Head of the Department of English, Kalyani University, Kalyani Parasar Chatterjee Memorial Trust 2009
Dr Barun Chatterjee, eminent academician and film maker Parasar Chatterjee Memorial Trust 2010
Dr Muktinath Chatterjee, Associate Professor in English and Principal, Charuchandra College; also former Chairman, West Bengal Council of Higher Secondary Education Parasar Chatterjee Memorial Trust 2011
Dr Subhendu Sarkar, Assistant Professor in English, Ranaghat College and eminent scholar on the drama of Badal Sirkar Parasar Chatterjee Memorial Trust 2012
Dr Debasish Bandopadhyay, Associate Professor in English, Vidyasagar University Parasar Chatterjee Memorial Trust 2013


9004716 visits